Independent board-certified specialists 

The allergy division consists of a group of independent board-certified specialists trained in the management of hypersensitivity diseases such as asthma, allergic rhinitis, food allergies, drug allergies, venom (bee sting) allergy, allergic rashes, and related conditions, as well as primary immunodeficiency disorders.

Allergists receive at least two additional years of advanced training beyond medical school and three years of internal medicine or pediatric residency. In addition to involvement in research during their A/I fellowship, they must successfully complete a board certification exam on the anatomy, physiology, pathology, biochemistry, diagnosis, and treatment of allergic and immunologic disorders. As in other specialties, they must remain actively involved in continuing medical education to remain current in their field.  

Our allergists are members of the national allergy societies.

Most are involved in teaching residents and medical students at Reading Hospital. Clinical conditions frequently seen by an allergist include, but are not limited to:

  • Allergic rhinitis
  • Chronic sinusitis
  • Asthma
  • Wheezing
  • Chronic cough
  • Food allergies
  • Drug allergies
  • Venom hypersensitivity (bee sting allergy)
  • Hives
  • Atopic dermatitis
  • Contact dermatitis
  • Allergic rashes
  • Eosinophilic disorders
  • Primary immunodeficiencies